Home Page

Early Years Foundation Stage


This consists of the Nursery and Reception class. Within this department an Early Years curriculum is followed focusing on the children’s development in seven areas of learning. They are:


- Personal, Social and Emotional
- Physical Development  
- Communication + Language
- Mathematics
- Literacy 
- Expressive Arts and Design
- Understanding the World


Learning for young children should be an enjoyable and rewarding experience in which they explore, investigate and 

discover their developing knowledge, skills, understanding and attitudes in all areas. Opportunities to play independently or participate in adult directed tasks allow the children time to develop the foundation skills necessary for the transition to Year 1. At St Cleopas we aim to provide a safe and secure environment for all children to learn in a fun and enjoyable way.